What is the “order of marvel movies”watching order of marvel movies

order of marvel movies: figuring out how to watch Marvel movies in order has become a bit of a challenge. Not only are there 23 mainline cinematic instalments, but the new Disney Plus shows are so closely tied to the movies – to the point where the recently released Falcon and The Winter Soldier sets up the upcoming (though not yet officially announced) Captain America 4 – that they’re impossible to avoid on any watch list.

With that in mind, our Marvel movie guide strives to provide you with a few options for watching your favourite superhero movies. We recommend seeing the films in chronological sequence if you’re a Marvel fan, but if you’re already a fan, you may switch things up with a chronological revisit. Regardless of your preference, this essay on how to watch Marvel movies in order should clear things up.

All the Marvel Moves in Order — New Marvel Movies

Also, before we get too far into Marvel legend, we’ve chosen to do an extended piece on the Marvel TV shows that aren’t available on Disney Plus. Why? Agents of Shield, Netflix programmes, The Runaways, and others have a shaky place in the Marvel canon, which might be confusing to newcomers, but WandaVision has a definite place in the timeline.

Order of marvel movies to watch

There are presently 23 Marvel Cinematic Universe films, with more on the way, all of which are set in the same universe and are linked by characters, events, and locales. So you’d be excused for being perplexed as to how they all fit together and in what order you should watch them.

With 2012’s Marvel’s The Avengers, Marvel broke new ground by bringing together dissimilar heroes from their respective films (Robert Downey Jr.’s Iron Man, Chris Evans’ Captain America, and Chris Hemsworth’s Thor) in one team-up film, before splitting them up into their own sequels.

Of course, this method of storytelling has been used in comic books before, but conveying a serialised storey across multiple films with a variety of tones and characters was novel, and it remains a gold mine of intriguing stories and characters.

However, as the MCU has increased in size, so has its complexity. Some films are set on distant worlds but take place at the same time as happenings on Earth. And some films are set in the distant past.

We’ve got you covered if you’re wondering how to watch the Marvel movies in order. Below we’re presenting two viewing options: the Marvel movies in order of chronological events, and the Marvel movies in order of when each film was released in theatres. Both are highly recommended and are the best ways to watch this series if you’re looking for a franchise to binge-watch.

marvel movies in order of release date 2021

All of the Marvel Cinematic Universe films are listed below in chronological sequence, with “phases” used by Marvel Studios to signify discrete storey arcs inside the broader MCU arc.

The first phase

  • Iron Man was released on May 2, 2008.
  • June 13, 2008 – The Incredible Hulk
  • Iron Man 2 will be released on May 7, 2010.
  • Thor – 6th of May, 2011
  • Captain America: The First Avenger is set to hit theatres on July 22, 2011.
  • The Avengers – Marvel – May 4, 2012

Phase 2:

  • Iron Man 3 will be released on May 3, 2013.
  • Thor: The Dark World will be released on November 8, 2013.
  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier is set to be released on April 4, 2014.
  • The first instalment of the Guardians of the Galaxy franchise was released on August 1, 2014.
  • Avengers: Age of Ultron will be released on May 1, 2015.
  • Ant-Man was released on July 17, 2015, and it was directed by Peyton Reed.

The third phase

Captain America: Civil War will be released on May 6, 2016.
4 November 2016 – Doctor Strange
May 5, 2017 – Guardians of the Galaxy, Vol. 2
Spider-Man: Homecoming will be released on July 7, 2017.
Thor: Ragnarok will be released on November 3, 2017.
The film Black Panther will be released on February 16, 2018.
Avengers: Infinity War will be released on April 27, 2018.
Ant-Man and the Wasp will be released on July 6, 2018.
Captain Marvel will be released on March 8, 2019.
Avengers: Endgame will be released on April 26, 2019.

In Phase Four, What’s Next?

  • Black Widow will be released on July 9, 2021.
  • The Legend of the Ten Rings: Shang-Chi – September 3, 2021
  • The Eternals will be released on November 5, 2021.
  • ‘Spider-Man: No Way Home’ will be released on December 17, 2021.
  • March 25, 2022 – Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness
  • Thor: Love and Thunder will be released on May 6, 2022.
  • Wakanda Forever – Black Panther – July 8, 2022
  • The Marvels (also known as Captain Marvel 2) will be released on November 11, 2022.


What are the 22 Marvel movies in order of release?

  • The best way to see Marvel movies is in chronological sequence.
  • Captain America: The First Avenger (Captain America: The First Avenger) (Cap (1942-1943)
  • Captain Marvel is a superhero who is known for his (1995)
  • Iron Man is a fictional character created by Stan Lee (2010)
  • Iron Man 2 is a sequel to the film Iron Man (2011)
  • Hulk the Unstoppable (2011)
  • Thor is a Norse god who (2011)
  • The Avengers are a group of superheroes who (2012)
  • Iron Man 3 is the third instalment of the Iron Man franchise (2012)